30 days of Knitting: Day 4 & 5

Standard

Alright, I’m doing this in twos…

Day 4: How did you learn how to knit?

I first learned to knit in a class for my University. We had a three week course entitled Knitting: It’s not just for Grannies. The course spent one half of the class knitting (it was a three hour course) and learning to knit, and the second half of the class discussing the history of handmade objects and their importance to culture. It was an awesome class but incredibly intensive. We had to have a hat, another object, and an artistic project (with accompanying movie of our artistic process and inspiration) done in three weeks. ON TOP OF THAT, we had to write an annotative bib and paper plus all the reading. The lady was insane, but I became a advanced beginner because of it. My artistic project was a series of kitties with different emoticons for faces. Each cat was a different stitch, and each emotion represented an emotion in knitting. The Itty Bitty Knitty Emoticon Kitty Committee

Day 5: How long did it take from the time your learned how to knit, to finish your first project?

Haha. I finished my first FO in two days. I had to or I was going to be able to keep up with the class. It was that black beanie.

Leave a Reply

